Iron Chef, the college edition

There’s no better way to warm up on a cold January day, than with the heat of a kitchen. On this cold Monday, it was the kitchen at Assiniboine Community College in Brandon providing the heat. And lots of it.

Canola oil was the oil of choice for the recipes in the contest.

Have I ever mentioned I love my job? Oh yes, I think I did. One of the things I love is how involved the organization is with the culinary arts. By involved, I mean fully supports. It supports Culinary Team Manitoba, and both Red River College and Assiniboine Community College’s culinary programs. The latter is where I found myself today to be a part of the Manitoba Canola Growers Black Box Competition. As the name suggests, it is a black-box style competition for first year students of the program. A cash prize was up for grabs.

My coworkers and I observed the four competing chefs in the kitchen, talked to them, asked them questions and in the end, judged their four salads and entrees. The items in the box were pork, chicken, and bacon.

Being my first time attending this event, I didn’t know what to expect but I had a blast. We were all thoroughly impressed with the calibre of their creations. You can read all about the competitors and who came out as the winner here. You can also read coverage from the Brandon Sun here.

The 4 chefs at work.

The judging begins.

The winning dish.

