On the farm part 1: seeding

In the past few years there has been an increasing interest from consumers in exploring where their food comes from. That’s easy, it comes from farm. But many urban citizens don’t often have access to a farm and a farmer who can explain the laws of the land to them.

Fortunately for me, my fiancee is the son of a fine farmer who goes by the name of Art Gagnon who has taught me a whole lot about where my food comes from. He farms over 5,000 acres in Manitoba’s interlake, close to Ste. Rose du Lac where he has deep family roots.

I love spending weekends out there taking in the fresh air and silence. It’s truly refreshing. This past long weekend was one of those, although this weekend we were put to work! We got there Saturday morning, just as Art was going into his final round of seeding canola. He took us to the field, showed me how to load the seeder, and let me sit in the training seat of the tractor and we talked farming.

I learned a lot and can’t wait to go back in the summer and see the canola fields.

Here is Art pouring the canola seeds into the compartment in the air tank.

(And here is proof I was up there “helping” too).

Getting the equipment ready to seed.

My view from the tractor – looking back and watching the seeder do it’s thing.

Art shows me how to check if seeds have been planted far enough into the ground.

That night we had what is the epitome of a made in Manitoba farm supper and I took an extra few seconds to really think about where my food had come from. I looked up and the people who brought it to me were right there sitting and smiling at the table with me, and that was a comforting thought.

After supper, we went for a walk on the quiet country roads. There was nothing to see except houses and bins and lots of land for miles which was refreshing. I paused to take a photo of the bins and then Mitch showed me the seeder Art used in 1976.

The seeder Mitch’s father Art used back in 1976 sits on display at the farm.

