1,000 Tastes of Toronto, one bite at a time

The weekend I spent in Toronto also coincided with Luminato, Toronto’s festival of arts and creativity, so there was no shortage of things to see and do. We went to a free Rufus Wainwright concert where I found out through twitter that Jake Gyllenhaal was also at. But I digress, what I want to tell you about what a food event in conjunction with Luminato: President’s Choice® 1000 Tastes of Toronto.

This event gave me a chance to explore the city’s distillery district, where it was held. Over 30 local restaurants participated and the fares were to our liking. In fact, my friend Laura and I were so overwhelmed by the options (everything smelled so good) so we did a walk around first. We were in street food heaven. Each sample was $5 and we shared everything so we could get more.

Here are some photos of some of the food we sampled:

The pizza from Queen Margherita Pizza was a must-try telling from the line. We were lucky they cut off the line right behind us leaving about 30 people lined up behind us very disappointed. Perfect crust with just the right amount of sauce and hot melted dallops of mozzarella.

The tacos were perfectly seasoned bundles of joy in my mouth. It was simple pulled pork topped with onions pickled in house at Milagros Cantina. This inspired a visit to the restaurant later that weekend. That’s what I love about events like this, you never know what you’re going to find and what eating adventures it will bring.

We shared dessert. Good friends sharing good food, does it get any better than that?

