The good beer folks!

I hadn’t mentioned this before, but I loved in Washington D.C. a few years ago. I did an internship after I finished I my PR program back in 2007. I interned at a sports team so I became a fan of all the D.C. teams, like the Washington Nationals. Guess who was in town playing the Blue Jays while I was in Toronto earlier this month? I couldn’t pass up the chance to go to a game, so I dragged my friend Laura and her boyfriend.Laura suggested we go on a tour of Steam Whistle Brewing since it’s across the street from the Rogers Centre. See why we’re friends? Beer and baseball? Yes! So off we went to visit the “good beer folks” as they like to call themselves.

Steam Whistle Brewery is located in a 1929 CN roundhouse, a charming characteristic. We were a little late and missed the first few minutes of the tour. We more than made up for it where after the tour we hung out at the bar and the bartender filled us in on what we’d missed, adding his own anecdotes we would have never learned on the tour. They really are “good folks”, from   its history to its staff, their brand is genuine, a nice change to see with all the communication “noise” we are subject to everyday, especially in the form of beer marketing. Steam Whistle is a brand I felt I really fit in with, and their beer is pretty dam good too!

They use four ingredients in the Steam Whistle Pilsener: water, two-bit barley from Saskatchewan, yeast and hops from Germany.

Some photos from the tour.

Another major draw for me? Steam Whistle is the greenest brewery in Canada (and second greenest in North America). The green bottles are made with more glass than regular beer bottles, which is a good thing – they can be washed and refilled up to 45 times! They are powered by Bullfrog Power,  a green energy provider, and fuel their delivery trucks with bio fuel. Another green practice I found fascinating is their green alternative to keep cool in the summer. They use Enwave, a lake-sourced cooling system. Cold Lake Ontario water is drawn through pipes and on its way to the city’s household taps, passes through the Steam Whistle facilities. And those are only some of their green practices.

The pilsener is aged for 28 days. At the end of the tour we got a enjoyed a bottle right off the line, that day’s date was right on the bottle. I was sold, I loved their history, their people, their location, and most importantly – their beer. I recommend it!

Beer right off the line on June 11.

One response

  1. Pingback: My weekend in beers | *Eat*Sip*Slurp

Comments are closed.