Strawberry pickin’

I just got back from a most relaxing long weekend. We are fortunate to have friends who invited us to their cabin in Lake Brereton. It was hot, hot, hot! I managed to get a lot of reading done and was able to disconnect. That’s right, no iPhone, no Twitter, no facebook, no Pinterest, no wordpress, and no texting for three days. It was divine!

On the way back, we stopped in Elma to pick strawberries at Whiteshell Strawberry Farm. We got there at a good time to pick, it wasn’t busy at all. The only discomfort was the heat. I give so much credit to farmers and people who work on farms in this kind of heat for a living.

We left with two containers and I have lots planned in the works for…crip, jam, coulee, the possibilities are endless! I’ve been inspired by The Prairie Fruitbook which I recently got.  Read all about the book and author here. In this heat, I can’t stand the thought of turning on the oven though. Stay tuned…

 

