Grilled Pizza

A few months ago I mentioned how much I enjoy making homemade pizza now that I discovered a simple recipe for pizza dough. This recipe is so easy, no one can mess it up. I’m trying not to use the oven these days so we’re barbecuing just about everything at home – including pizza!

Step 1: Prepare the sauce and dough as indicated in this recipe.

Step 2: Prepare your toppings. Place them in small bowls and have ready on hand. Tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms, chicken, whatever you want. Some veggies may require pre cooking, such as the zucchini I used in this recipe. Don’t forget the cheese.

Step 3: Heat your grill (I keep it on medium).Bring all your ingredients to the bbq and have them at hand.

Step 4: Brush canola oil on one side of your prepared dough. Canola oil has a high smoke point so it’s a pod option for using on the bbq. Place dough oil side down on the grill (careful how you handle it, as it may stretch a little). Your dough will start to puff up. Once it’s browned (about 2 minutes) slide it onto a cookie sheet browned side up. Close the lid of the bbq.

Step 5: Here’s where you should work quickly. Spread your sauce on the dough, then add your topping, adding the cheese last.

Step 6: Return pizza to bbq. Reduce heat to low, cook about 2-4 minutes with the lid closed. Don’t walk away, stay close by. Pizza is done when cheese is bubbly.

Step: 7 Let cool, slice and enjoy!

My variation had chicken, sauteed onions, zucchini, and green peppers. I forgot the cheese but that was ok, it was hardly missed!

