A fan of the Vancouver Fanclub

Live music, a good selection of beer and hot sauces, and food with a local flair. That pretty much sums up what I liked about the Vancouver Fanclub I visited earlier this month. Once again, this was a meal shared with IABC friends, most of them from the BC chapter and do they ever know how to show out-of-towners a good time.

A long day of meetings was followed by bowling (yours truly got a prize for being the worst bowler) and food and drinks at the newly renovated New Orleans-inspired locale named the Vancouver Fanclub located on Granville Street. We arrived early while it was still light out, but you wouldn’t be able to tell from inside. It was dark but lit up by neon pink lights and the band rocking it out on stage had a good group of groupies on the dance floor. It was a sight to be expected at 12 am, not 6 pm but that’s what made it so fun!

What made it even much more fun for me was their selections of local brews. I started with a Killer Bee, slightly sweet, slightly bitter and dark brown in colour which I tend to like. The menu combines local fare with a New Orleans twist – like the Cajun Creole Prawns I ordered. The prawns were large and had the kick I was looking for. The menu has something for everyone – the bar bites range from quinoa lettuce wraps and artichoke hummus to oysters and hickory smoked spiced chicken wings! I also had their potato chips mainly because the words “seasoned with mango chipotle” were used to describe them. These were great for sharing, my mouth is watering just thinking of them now.

Cajun Creole Prawns.

Potato chips with aioli.

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about Cannery Brewing’s Squire Scotch Ale, but I loved it. It was a smoky and hoppy and just the right amount of sweetness for me, a perfect Saturday night beer.

Squire Scotch Ale

I enjoy a good live music venue, such as this one, and apparently the locals are loving it too. “Can you believe what they’ve done with this place?” a lady in the washroom asked me. I don’t know what it looked like before, but it was definitely happening on this Saturday night.

I’d love to go back again next time I’m in Vancouver, there were a lot more of those menu items I’d love to try.

