A halloween treat

Happy halloween! We’ve gone all out for the past few years, so we’re taking a break this from all the costumes and parties this year. We also live in a condo so we can’t hand candy out to trick or treaters. We’re curled up on the couch catching up on our favourite shows and enjoying some halloween snacks…in the form of beer.

I’m liking Fort Garry Brewing’s Happy Jack. It is going perfectly with these baked apple slices I made. The common ingredient in both? Cinnamon of course. Although I enjoy it, Happy Jack is very sweet, but that’s alright since it only comes once a year. I had one last week and actually found myself craving it today. Must’ve been all the photos of jack o’ lanterns I saw on facebook, twitter and instagram today.

Earlier this month while in Vancouver I tried Phillip’s Crooked Tooth. It’s not overwhelming and it was very refreshing after a long day of walking in the rain in Vancouver three weeks ago.

Back to my baked apple slices. I’m loving apples right now and although they take a while to bake it’s worth it because it makes you house smell like fall!

Baked apple slices topped with cinnamon and baked make the perfect fall treat.

Baked Apple Slices

You’ll need:

– 2 apples
– cinnamon

Directions:

–       core apples
–       slice thinly
–       place apples on a parchment lined cookie sheet
–       sprinkle with cinnamon
–       bake at 275 degrees for one hour. Flip over and bake for another 30 to 60 minutes, depending on how crispy you want them.

Update: Read all about what else I’m Lovin’ this month.

