Top 12 food memories of 2012 Part 1

As of today there are 12 days left in the year. There are also 12 months in a year, so I thought today would be a good day to do a countdown of my 12 most memorable meals of 2012.

Some are local restaurants, some are from my travels, and some were home made meals. I realized the one thing they all had in common and made them memorable was the company I had for each.

My countdown starts with the oldest and ends with the most recent. Here are my first 6, next week I’ll post the other 6.

12. January 2012, Bistro 7 1/4

I don’t have any photos of this evening but it was one of my favourite nights of the year. It was a cold day and we (Mitch and I) had reservations for dinner at Bistro 7 1/4. We almost bailed on it because it was later than we wanted and the weather was uninviting, but we decided against that and I’m glad we did. It turned out to be a fabulous evening where we had great conversation, made even more memorable by the food and wine. I had the seared scallops with creamed corn and bacon jam plus one of their daily specials that consisted of grilled halloumi, Mitch had the braised beef short ribs and we shared moules et frites, although I can’t remember which ones. Not only was it a memorable meal, it’s one of my favourite dates ever because it was spontaneous.

11. February 2012, Wynood Kitchen and Bar, Miami, FL

I was in Miami for an IABC conference and I took advantage of the cuban cuisine. One night in particular stood out.  It was an adventure getting there and the restaurant’s location in the art district made it a treat for all our senses.  We took in the art covered walls, delicious tapas, exotic drinks, and a jazz band simultaneously. The company I had were fellow IABC members from Edmonton, Calgary, Vancouver, Toronto, San Francisco and more. I captured it all here.

Wynwood band 2

10. March 2012, Woody’s in Farallon, Panama

A Canadian-owned sports bar, poutine and ceasars are the last thing we expected to have on a trip to Panama. As awesome as the seafood and Panamanian food was, this little place called Woody’s found a place in our hearts.

Woody's - shrimp

9. May 2012, Ste.Rose du Lac, MB

This truly made in Manitoba meal took place at the farm. Everything is our meal came right from my fiancee’s dad’s farm in Ste. Rose. It was memorable because it was in the spring, a promising time of year for farmers. I even “helped” seed canola and rode in the tractor as my future father-in-law Art taught me about seeding. Check out what we ate and why it was so memorable here.

farmmeal

8. May 2012, Wascana Park, Regina, SK

In May I had an IABC leadership conference in Regina. Again, I reunited with IABC members from all over western Canada. On the Saturday night we were treated to one of the most delicious meals I’ve had all year, in the equally stand-out setting of Wascana Park. The dinner was catered by Regina’s top-rated chef and featured local foods – my kind of meal!

Regina 3- trout

7. June 2012, 1,000 tastes of Toronto, ON

In June I visited one of my best friends Laura in Toronto. She loves food, beer and wine as much as me, so the entire weekend was filled with happy moments made up of good eats, drinks and good company. We had a blast at 1,000 Tastes of Toronto.  Set up in the Distillery District, there was plenty to see and eat. It was the perfect Toronto summer night spent with a great friend!

Tastes - tacos Tastes - Mill St

Check back next week for my final 6 memorable food memories of 2012.

