Mexican Coffee

coffee2About once a month or so I like to spice up my coffee routine and make myself a Mexican coffee on the weekends. I usually try a different every time, but this weekend I was feeling adventurous and came up with my own, according to what I like.

I like the simplicity of making the coffee in a regular drip coffee maker and combining the milk mixture with it afterwards (as opposed to cooking it all together than having to drain the ground coffee out of it).

Wendy’s Mexican Coffee

Ingredients

3/4 cup of ground coffee

1 teaspoon cinnamon

4 cups water

1/2 cup of milk

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Kahlua (optional)

Whipping Cream (optional)

Directions 

1. Mix coffee and cinnamon together in filter basket of coffeemaker. Add water to coffeemaker; brew as directed.

2. In a small saucepan, simmer milk, cocoa powder and brown sugar on low heat until cocoa powder and sugar are dissolved. Add vanilla.

3. When coffee is brewed, stir milk mixture into brewed coffee. Add kahlua and top with whipping cream (optional).

Enjoy!

This weekend I skipped the whipping cream and enjoyed my coffee with biscotti instead.

coffee1

Easy ingredients (not pictured: brown sugar and vanilla).

coffee3

Add kahlua and whipping cream if desired.

One response

  1. Pingback: Mexico roundup: thirst quenching drinks | *Eat*Sip*Slurp

Comments are closed.