Mexico roundup: thirst quenching drinks

Just got back from Mexico and the food and drinks I had in a matter of two weeks could make up a year’s worth of blog posts. From street stands in the market to a 5 star rated restaurant, there wasn’t a day I didn’t eat or drink something new, something I already love or something I just could not get enough of.

Here’s a roundup of some memorable drinks from the trip.

sayulita pacificosjuices las caletas

We spent a day relaxing on double loungers people and surfer watching at the Paraiso Beach Club in Sayulita. Our drink of choice on the shores of the Pacific Ocean was none other than Pacifico.

The day of my wedding was an amazing experience at Las Caletas. This selection of fresh juice  accompanied our equally delicious lunch that day: jamaica juice, horchata and mango juice. Delicious!

Marg- sangria latte1

Oceanside sangria at Margarita’s in Punta Mita. This place was recommended to me by the person we rented our honeymoon condo from; he first met the owner when he stumbled upon Punta Mita 11 years ago. The seafood was amazing (more about that later) and the margaritas and sangrias were delicious and had to go down fast because it was so hot that day that the glasses got very “sweaty”.

You know when you’re on vacation and you run into a place that brings comforts of home when you least expect it? There was a coffee shop located just steps outside of the resort. When I needed more than a regular coffee I headed there for a latte no matter how hot it happened to be that day.

MexicanCoffeeOJ

I’ve expressed my love of Mexican Coffee before, so it’s no surprise I took in as much as I could get. Difference is I don’t usually put too much, if any, alcohol in mine. In Mexico, it was a whole other story! A strong but sweet mix of tequila and kahlua and cinnamon topped off an already excellent cup of freshly brewed Mexican coffee. This pot was full of it and every time I saw it out, I couldn’t help but get excited.

One morning we ventured off the resort for breakfast. This freshly squeezed orange juice cost almost more than our huevos rancheros did but it was so worth it!

Michelada

mojo2

Michelada’s are a Mexican-style beer cocktail with lime juice, hot sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. It combines two things I really really love and can usually only have with food (lime and hot sauce) so they are one of my favourite drinks to have in Mexico. On this particular night, they were super “sweaty” because it was extremely hot out. I enjoyed it more knowing it was -45 back in Winnipeg.

We spontaneously headed into Puerto Vallarta for our last night. The details of the night are not for this blog but we did end the night with mojitos and salsa dancing at La Bodeguita, a Cuban club and one of my favourite places in PV. It’s where the mojito originated (in Havana, Cuba of course) so what better place to enjoy a mojito? Check out all that fresh mint!

2 responses

  1. I needed to draft you that little remark to help thank you very much
    again just for the incredible pointers you have provided here.
    It has been certainly open-handed of people like you to present freely what
    exactly a number of people might have marketed for an
    electronic book to get some money for themselves, principally considering the fact that you could possibly have tried it in the event
    you wanted. These principles in addition acted as the great way to be sure that most people have
    a similar interest like mine to grasp great deal more
    concerning this problem. Certainly there are millions of more fun periods ahead for individuals who read through your blog.

  2. Pingback: Mexico round up 2014 | *Eat*Sip*Slurp

Comments are closed.