My Steak Confession

I have a confession to make. I’m scared to grill beef steak. As a steak-loving, daughter in-law of a farmer with steers on his farm, this may come as a shock (and as a slight embarrassment for myself).

It’s fairly easy to avoid grilling duty at picnics, barbecues, and even at home because my husband (who used to work at the Keg in his youth) always prefers to do it and is picky about his steak being done exactly to his liking. Being left in charge of grilling is my worst fear.

farmmeal

This summer I have decided to embrace my fear and learn how to perfectly grill a steak. This is all due to one of my favourite memories from last year was when my husband and I spent a weekend on my father-in-law’s farm where I learned a lot about the steers on their farm – and our source for the beef we eat at home year round. On a Saturday night we had a truly made-in-Manitoba meal where everything in the meal came from the farm, the garden and a local bakery. I still think about how delicious and special that meal was.

Lucky for me I have this fabulous tutorial from Canadian Beef on how to grill the perfect steak to guide me. I’ve watched it several times and have bookmarked it as a reference. The forecast is calling for snow tomorrow but that doesn’t stop me from getting excited for the first barbecue of the season where I will be doing the grilling. It’s a win-win situation; I will learn the important life skill of how to grill the perfect steak and I have a shot at winning a prize. The generous people at Canadian Beef are giving away six conference passes to the 2013 Eat Write Retreat conference, wish me luck!

Here’s a recipe for Chimichurri, an Argentinean sauce that pairs well with beef. I’ve played with it many times and always alter it a bit depending on the herbs I have on hand, but so far this is the best variation.

chimichurri1-2.jpgChimichurri Sauce

INGREDIENTS

1 cup of fresh parsley and cilantro (combined)

1/2 cup fresh oregano leaves

3 cloves of garlic

1/2 cup of canola oil

1 tbs red wine vinegar

1 tbsp of juice from fresh lime

sea salt and red pepper flakes (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

1. In a food processor, combine parsley, cilantro, oregano leaves and garlic for a few pulses.

2. Add in canola oil, red wine vinegar, lime juice and stir. Add sea salt and red pepper flakes (optional) according to taste.

3. Chill in refrigerator for 1–2 hours.

