My weekend in beers

Muskoka Summer Weiss.jpg

This weekend I was in Toronto for one of my best friend’s weddings. The last time I visited her, she took me to the farmer’s market at Evergreen Brickworks , 1000 Tastes of Toronto and a tour of the Steamwhistle brewery. Needless to say she enjoys eating and good beer as much as I do and she’s obviously a fabulous host!

This time I went with my husband and we decided to let loose and enjoy the weekend with good food and drinks. I couldn’t wait to get there and enjoy a draft or bottled Steamwhistle since we only get the cans in Manitoba. I got my fix before the Blue Jays game on the first day.

Compared to the gloomy weather at home this weekend it still felt summery out there and I enjoyed a Muskoka Summer Weiss at lunch a few hours after we’d landed.

My friend and her fiancée (now husband) organized a beer tasting  at Beer Bistro for the out of town guests the evening before the wedding. They paired an appetizer with each beer. My favourite was the tarty Rodenbach which was paired with a tomato and basil flatbread pizza.

The couple’s wine of choice for the wedding was a crisp and delicious Ontario white wine, Crush that is a blend of Pinot Grigio, Sauvingon Blanc, Riesling, Muscat, Gewurtzraminer and Chardonnay. Their beer of choice was Steamwhistle (draft!) which went perfectly with their midnight snack – poutine.

The beautiful fall weather and foliage on the trees had me craving a pumpkin ale but I didn’t enjoy one until the last possible second at the Mill Street Brew Pub at the airport. I really like this one because it wasn’t overpowering, had just a hint of cinnamon for my liking.

Another perfect weekend in Toronto revolving around good company, food and drinks.

20130930-232250.jpg20130930-232330.jpg

20130930-232408.jpg20130930-232431.jpg

