Summer lasts and fall firsts

I love the feeling I get in anticipation of fall. I look forward to many fall “firsts” of the season, while thoroughly enjoying my summer “lasts.” Most involving food of course.

The fall foliage makes me yearn for cozy sweaters, hot herbal tea, fall comfort foods, fall bike rides and pumpkin everything. Pumpkin brews, pumpkin pie, pumpkin seeds and trying out new recipes starring the pumpkin.

At the same time, I realize that summer BBQ’s, summer beers and summer treats are coming to an end.

Here are few summer lasts and fall firsts from this month so far.

summer ale

fall cabbage

My last summer ale , a Muskoka Summer Weiss was enjoyed at the corner of Queen and Bay alongside a wonderful lunch at Bannock in Toronto last weekend.

This week we had our last barbecue and we made it a good one. We paired it with braised red cabbage using this recipe I found in Chatelaine.

summer picnicsummer marketWe had our last summer (impromptu) picnic at Sugar Beach in Toronto last Sunday. It was the day after my friend’s wedding and we had a relaxing day that consisted of a picnic on the beach, lots of walking, shopping and sitting on a patio drinking coffee and people watching.

Yesterday, I went to the St.Norbert Farmer’s Market for the last time this year. It’s open until the end of the month, but this is the last weekend I could go. I stocked up on pickled beets, spicy pickled peppers, beans, baby potatoes, onions, carrots, beets, spaghetti squash and butternut squash.

Fall firsts

fall brews fall walkA long long walk through our neighbourhood and a park with our dog. Next up is a fall bike ride through the same park.

Technically my first pumpkin ale was at Toronto Pearson Airport last weekend on our way home from Toronto but this weekend I went to our LC looking for something local. Unfortunately they were out, so I went for the Phillips Pumpkin Ale and Red Rock’s Life of Chai spiced ale that I sampled in store and love. It contains masala chai and cardamom; a perfect blend for a seasonal ale.

fall piepumpkinsWe couldn’t wait until thanksgiving so we had our first taste of pumpkin pie this weekend.

My fall comfort foods include soup, butternut squash and pumpkin dishes, chilli and chicken and dumplings. We had the chicken and dumplings tonight using a new recipe I tried and love.

What do you look forward to in the fall?

