Strawberry Lime Margaritas

Strawberry lime margarita

Strawberry lime margaritas.

I have never experienced the “January blah’s” as bad as I have this year. It’s been -30 or below a large part of the month with more snowfalls than I care for. I usually have a hot getaway to look forward to but because I’ve been at my new job less than a year, it doesn’t look like I’ll be getting away for a while.

With one more week to go in January, I decided we needed to spice things up this weekend to lift our spirits. What better way to do that than with a tropical beverage. If I can’t go to Mexico, than Mexico can come to me. I did a round-up of thirst-quenching drinks from my Mexican vacation last year and looking back at it this weekend, I knew exactly what the cure for our Saturday night would be. I whipped up a pitcher of Strawberry Lime Margaritas and looked through pictures of our trip last year. We were joined by 42 of our closest family and friends on that trip where we got married and our first year anniversary was just last week. As a surprise my sister sent me a USB a of never before seen photos of the trip including some of the wedding so we looked and laughed at those while we sipped our margaritas. It did the trick and lifted me (and my husband’s) spirits.

I took my go-to margarita recipe that I can practically make with my eyes closed and added strawberries to it. I’m a minimalist when it comes to ingredients so it’s just tequila, lime, ice and two other things.

Strawberry Lime Margaritas

Ingredients:

  • Ice cubes (enough to fill 2/3 of your blender) or crushed ice
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 6 oz. white tequila*
  • 1 cup fresh diced strawberries
  • 4 tbsp frozen lime concentrate
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lime
  • kosher or sea salt and sliced lime for the rim of glasses

*If you don’t like your margaritas strong, start with 4 oz and add more if you’d like.

Directions:

  1. Pour ice cubes or crushed ice into blender. Add agave nectar. Blend for 10 seconds.
  2. Add tequila, strawberries, lime concentrate and lime. Blend until well mixed.
  3. Pour into salt rimmed glasses and enjoy!

If you’re not sure it tastes right, call me and I’d be happy to come over and give it a taste test for you 🙂

margarita ingredients in blender

Blend ingredients in blender.

strawberry lime margarita

Strawberry lime margaritas to beat the January blah’s.

For the record, the BEST margarita I have ever had was at a place in Punta Mita (in Riviera Nayarit) called, you guessed it – Margarita’s!

One response

  1. Pingback: Refresco de Ensalada de Fruta (Fruit Salad Juice) | *Eat*Sip*Slurp

Comments are closed.