Grapefruit infused tequila

grapefruit infused tequila

Grapefruit infused tequila

Spring makes me think of the beach, bike rides, patios and icy cocktails. Although our spring if off to a chilly start, I’m staying optimistic and part of that is living everyday like it’s spring. That means wearing bright colours, having barbecues and experimenting with new cocktails.

One of the things I’ve been wanting to do for a while is infuse tequila with fruit. I got the idea when we were in Mexico this winter. The hardest part was deciding on a fruit combination. Mango, strawberries and watermelon all came to mind.

I got my inspiration at the grocery store when I spotted a juicy looking grapefruit so I decided to infuse my tequila with grapefruit and make Paloma cocktails with it since it’s based on grapefruit.

I added some cinnamon sticks for a kick and like the way it turned out. I can’t wait to experiment more with fresh fruit and herb options this summer.

grapefruit and cinnamon infused tequila

infused tequila in a jar

Grapefruit and cinnamon infused tequila

Ingredients:

  • one grapefruit, peeled and sliced
  • three cinnamon sticks
  • three cups of tequila
Directions:
  1. Pour fruit and cinnamon sticks into a sealable jar.
  2. Add tequila, mix and seal.
  3. Shake it up once  day for 3-5 days. Strain fruit and enjoy on its own or in a cocktail.
One response

  1. Pingback: Paloma, your Cinco de Mayo tequila cocktail | *Eat*Sip*Slurp

Comments are closed.