Chimichurri

Chimichurri

Fresh herbs, garlic and lime juice and oil.

Chimichurri. It’s such a fun word to say and also muy delicioso. I shared this recipe last summer but I wanted to share it again because it is one of my favourites. It consists of fresh, aromatic herbs and is served best chilled which goes well on those hot summer days. This is the first thing I make when the herbs in my garden are ready to be used and I love it so much that I usually plan an entire meal around the sauce.

Chimichurri is an Argentinean sauce usually served with  flank skirt steak, or carne asada, but also goes well with pork, chicken and white fish. I’ve even used it as a marinade.

I’ve played with this recipe many times, sometimes I add more garlic, sometimes more pepper flakes or alter it a bit depending on the herbs I have on hand, so feel free to experiment by adding your other favourite herbs. Just keep in mind ONLY fresh herbs and freshly squeezed lime juice will do!


Chimichurri Sauce

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup of finely chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 cup of finely chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh oregano leaves
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 cup of canola oil
  • 1 tbs red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice
  • sea salt and red pepper flakes

 

DIRECTIONS:

1. In a food processor, combine parsley, cilantro, oregano leaves and garlic for a few pulses.

2. Add canola oil, red wine vinegar, lime juice and mix. Add sea salt and red pepper flakes according to taste.

3. Chill in refrigerator for 1–2 hours. Served best with grilled steak.

chimichurri

Freshly chopped herbs make this aromatic sauce a staple at your barbecues this summer.

chimichurri

Serve with grilled steak, pork or chicken.

 

