Sweet and savoury pineapple salsa

Pineapple salsa can be served as a side or topped on leafy greens as a meal on its own.

Pineapple salsa can be served as a side or topped on leafy greens as a meal on its own.

After a rainy week the sun finally came out triggering a sudden urge for cool summer salads for me. I felt like something sweet and savoury and I had a pineapple laying around so I tossed a few things into a bowl and ta-daa!

It was too good not to share and there were a  few things in particular about it I wanted to share:

1) I knew I wanted to use canola oil because of its mild taste (I didn’t want the oil to overpower the other awesome flavours going on in this salad) and I had this bottle sample of cold pressed canola oil that I received from Canola Eat Well so I decided to test it out. Loved it!

2) I wanted it to be a little sweet, which the pineapple was but I also added a little agave syrup.

3) I was in the mood for a little spice so I added some chilli flakes. The combination of flakes and cumin is what make this salad!

pineapple salsa ingredientscold pressed canola oil
PINEAPPLE SALSA

Ingredients

  • 2 cups chopped pineapple
  • 1 cup chopped red pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • freshly squeezed juice from half of one lime
  • 1 tbsp cold pressed canola oil (or regular canola oil)
  • 1 tsp agave syrup or honey
  • dash of both cumin and red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh herb of your choice (I used mint but basil, dill or cilantro would all work well too)

Directions

  1. Place the first three ingredients into a large bowl.
  2. To make the dressing, in a small bowl, place the lime juice, canola oil and agave syrup. Mix well.
  3. Pour the dressing over the pineapple, red pepper and red onion mixture. Mix until everything is blended.
  4. Add a dash of cumin (not too much) and red pepper flakes according to taste.
  5. Chill and top with herbs before serving.

Serve as a side with salmon or chicken, in tacos, or top on top of leafy lettuce greens for a meal on its own.

pineapple salsa 2

One response

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | Eat Well

Comments are closed.