Coconut-mint paletas (popsicles)

Coconut paletasThis week I decided to make one of the first things I ever made in the kitchen. My mom used to make paletas (popsicles) all the time and eventually I took over and made them all on my own by the time I was eight years old. My favourite used to be cantaloupe paletas made out of fresh juice my mom used to make.

It was so hot yesterday, I thought I’d channel the eight year-old in me and have some fun. I haven’t had store bought popsicles in years mainly because they are too sweet so making my own allows me to control how much sugar goes into them while still satisfying my sweet tooth.

These are so simple and only take three ingredients to make. I like to have them on hand for when our friends with kids visit. These were so delicious, even my dog liked them!

I prefer to use coconut juice with pulp so that you it has some texture to it once frozen.

Mint leaves add some flavour, texture and colour. 

paletas - ingredients I like to use coconut juice with pulp for extra texture.

coconut popsicles

easy coconut popsicles

 

Coconut Paletas

Makes 6 100 ml popsicles.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 540 ml can of coconut juice, preferably with pulp
  • 1/4 cup of agave syrup or honey
  • fresh mint leaves

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine the coconut juice and agave syrup. Stir well.
  2. Rip mint leave in half and place into the molds.
  3. Fill molds with coconut juice. Stir after each pour to ensure you get pulp in each one.
  4. Place in freezer until frozen and enjoy!

These make a cool, refreshing treat on a hot day. Small pieces of fruit would make a good addition.

paletas - frozen

Even my dog loves them! She photobombed me and got in a lick!

paletas - dog

One response

  1. Pingback: Coffee Paletas | *Eat*Sip*Slurp

Comments are closed.