My super simple sangria

Sangria - the perfect sweet and savoury summer beverage.

Sangria – the perfect sweet and savoury summer beverage.

Sangria. Sigh. Just thinking about it brings images of sunny patios, backyard parties, and weekends at the lake come to life in my head. Sangria is the perfect summer beverage because it’s cold, sweet and savoury but the truth is, I enjoy it year-round.

Sangria my go-to contribution for parties because it’s ideal for making in large batches. I also like the fact that there’s always someone who has never tried it before or has had bad sangria and I like to be the one who converts them. Friends are always asking for my recipe so I’m happy to share it with everyone.

Exactly five summers ago, the Winnipeg Free Press printed my sangria recipe (see my recipe for perfect easy sangria here). It’s varied slightly since then, mainly because five years ago I had a higher tolerance for sweetness, but it’s just as delicious as ever.

I have put in many years and pitchers of taste testing (you’re welcome) after I discovered a tapas bar in D.C. They had over 10 variations of sangria and that is where my obsession grew.

I always keep the ratio of ingredients the same but use different wines and fruit, depending on the season and flavour I’m looking for. Here are a few examples.

Here is my recipe with red sangria. I made this one a couple of weeks ago to take to a friend’s party (hence the to-go cup). I made it at home the night before packed this up in a cooler with ice to take along. I used a combination of seasonal fruit – raspberries, blueberries, strawberries and lime.

Classic red sangria

Classic red sangria.

This was a fall sangria with lots of diced apples and pears.

white wine sangria

Simple white wine sangria with apples and pears. 

This is a white wine sangria I made this winter. I swapped the citrus fruits for kiwi, mango and cranberries for a more seasonal effect.

Winter sangria with kiwi, mango and cranberries.

Winter sangria with kiwi, mango and cranberries.

 I did something a little different for this sangria for a Christmas party. I used  rosé wine and a combination of club soda and a raspberry ale to sweeten it instead of the usual fresca. I threw some cranberries and rosemary in the pitcher for a Christmas-y effect and subtle taste. It was a hit!

Holiday rose sangria

Holiday rosé and cranberry sangria.

 

Wendy’s Summer Sangria

  • 1 750 ml bottle of wine (For red I usually use a cabernet sauvignon and I like moscato for a white wine sangria.)
  • 2 ounces of brandy
  • 1 can of fresca (or ginger ale or sprite/7-up)*
  • 2 cups of lemon, lime, and orange slices (or diced apples, pears, mango, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, or kiwi slices)
  • Optional: mint or other herbs for garnish (basil and rosemary also work well)

Directions:

  1. Pour the wine, brandy and fresca into a pitcher. Stir.
  2. Add the fruit and stir.
  3. Refrigerate overnight to allow flavours to blend (or a few hours at least).
  4. Serve over ice. Make sure to add fruit to every glass!

*IF you feel it’s too strong or not sweet enough, add 1 cup of juice of your choice (I suggest orange juice).

Happy sipping!

