Churros

churros

Homemade churros.

At the beginning of the summer, I created a bucket list of things I wanted to accomplish this summer. Some, of course, involved food. Dining al fresco, unplanned afternoon patio drinks, and hosting a backyard bbq were just a few that were accomplished. I had one left on my list and I tackled it this past long weekend. I have LOVED churros since I was a child and I wanted to attempt making them on my own this year.

Churros are doughnut like, fried pastry that are coated in cinnamon and sugar and served best warm.
 
The soft, warm treat reminds me of carnavales and fiestas patronales of Latin American countries. Fiestas patronales are patronage festivals held in towns and cities celebrated in honour of said town/city’s saint. They’re usually week long celebrations in which carnival games, music, artisans and lots of food vendors take over the streets. Last winter I was fortunate to be in Bucerias during their fiestas patronales in January. It was fulfilling for all my senses and I had the best churro I’ve had in my life!
 
I regret postponing experimenting with churros for so long because they are so easy to make! I really thought they’d be much more complicated but I followed this recipe which was easy to follow and turned out well for my first time.
 
Churros are usually served with chocolate sauce but I skipped the chocolate and served them with vanilla ice cream instead and it was just as heavenly!
 
Churros and ice cream.

Churros and ice cream.

 
Here are some fresh churros in Bucerias.
Churros being fried in oil.

Churros being fried in oil.

 

Here the churros are get coated in the sugar and cinnamon mixture.

Here the churros are get coated in the sugar and cinnamon mixture.

And here are some photos of other goodies you can find at carnavales and fiestas patronales.

The selection of candy.

The selection of Mexican candies and other sweets.

Fried whole plantains, french fries and pigs in a blanket are other popular treats.

Fried whole plantains, french fries and pigs in a (tortilla) blanket are other popular treats.

Pizza is a popular treat since it's not an everyday staple.

Pizza is a popular treat since it’s not an everyday staple.

Amongst all the junk food, of course you can always find fresh fruit like pinepapple, mango  and coconuts.

Amongst all the junk food, of course you can always find fresh fruit like pinepapple, mango and coconuts.

