Huevos rancheros

Huevos rancheros

Huevos rancheros

Some of  favourite weekend rituals are sleeping in, coffee, reading and binge-movie watching, but my most favourite is breakfast and brunch. Although I love a nice dinner, my favourite time to meet up with friends is for breakfast or brunch (hello mimosa!) On the weekends I don’t go out for breakfast or brunch, my husband and I have a weekend ritual of making breakfast together. Usually it’s something we don’t have time to prepare during the weekdays. Huevos rancheros is one of our favourites to make at home.

I grew up having huevos rancheros for breakfast. At the time, I didn’t realize how spoiled I was as my mom used to make them with freshly made corn tortillas and homemade refried beans since this are Salvadoran household staples.

I have this recipe ingrained in my brain from watching my mom make it so many times and making it so often myself.

In my opinion, corn tortillas are the only way to go for huevos rancheros. They’re simple to make with corn flour (Maseca) and a bit of warm water but luckily you can also buy them frozen at latin supermarkets. I always keep a stash of these (locally made) in my freezer.

frozen corn tortillas

Corn tortillas are the only way to go!

 

Hint if you’re using frozen tortillas: they’re easier to separate from frozen. Place them on a baking sheet as is. If they aren’t frozen, brush them with a little bit of canola oil. Don’t leave them on the even too long or they will harden too much and burn.

Warm tortillas for two minutes in the broiler.

Warm tortillas for two minutes in the broiler.

Personally I do enjoy them a bit crispy, plus it makes them easier to cut apart on your plate.

Warm tortillas out of the oven.

Warm tortillas out of the oven.

Refried beans are easy to make (recipe here), I highly recommend making your own ahead of time. But the canned variety aren’t too bad, My favourite brand is Goya, but any will do.

frijoles

The sauce is flavoured with onions, cumin, cilantro (or parsley).

sauce

parsley

Huevos Rancheros

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (796 ml) diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp salt (optional)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro (or parsley) chopped
  • 6 corn tortillas (frozen is fine)
  • 1.5 cups of fresh refried beans (see recipe here) OR 1 can of refried beans
  • 1 TBSP canola oil
  • 6 eggs
  • queso fresco or another soft cheese such as feta
  • 2 avocados, sliced

Directions: 

  1. Pour tomatoes into pan, heat over medium to high heat.
  2. Add onion, cumin and salt (I skip the alt because canned tomatoes already have lots in it) and bring to a bubbling boil, stirring often.
  3. Lower heat and let simmer for 8 to 10 minutes or until most of the liquid has evaporated.
  4. Add cilantro, stir and let heat for another five minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, heat broiler to low.
  6. Heat refried beans on low to medium heat (any higher and they will burn).
  7. Cook eggs as desired – over easy, over medium, or scrambled all work fine.
  8. Just before eggs are done, place tortillas on a baking tray and place baking pan with tortillas for two minutes maximum. NOTE: If using frozen tortillas they will be moist which is ok.
  9. Flip tortillas over and heat through for another two minutes. This will leave them crispy making them easier to cut on your plate.

To arrange: spread warm beans on the tortilla, place eggs on top and pour salsa over the eggs. Top with queso fresco and avocado slices.

One response

  1. Pingback: Canola Coast to Coast: 5 Recipes for Mother’s Day | Eat Well

Comments are closed.