2 Ingredient Milkshake

Banana milkshake, perfect for breakfast on the go.

Banana milkshake, perfect for breakfast on the go.

It has come to my attention that I am not getting enough calcium. Although there are many ways to get calcium, I know milk is a good source but I am just not a fan. I like it in cereal but just can’t drink a glass of it on its own.

Because I am trying to get a glass in every morning, I tried to think of creative ways to drink it and then it just hit me. When I was young, my mom always used to make a simple milkshake in order to get my sisters and I to drink our milk. It consists of only two ingredients and because of its simplicity is very popular in Latin American countries. It consists of milk, a banana (in some countries referred to as platano) and a dash of cinnamon. It’s called licuado de leche con guineo (or platano).

The combination of banana and milk is a popular due to its health benefits. Bananas contain beneficial vitamins and minerals, in particular potassium and fibre; add milk and you’ve got calcium and protein. It make a quick to-go breakfast for those busy weekday mornings, or a post-gym snack. Canada’s Food Guide recommends two cups (500 ml) of milk everyday to get the adequate of vitamin D our body needs. Double the recipe up and you’ve got your daily dose!

licuado de leche con guineo

I like mine with lots of cinnamon!

Banana Milkshake

Ingredients:

  • One glass (250 ml) of milk of your choice
  • one banana
  • a dash of cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. In a blender combine milk and banana.
  2. Pour into glass; top with a dash of cinnamon to taste.
banana milkshake

An easy, quick way to get your recommended serving of calcium.

