Shrimp cocktail tostadas

The craziness that is Sabado Gigante.

The craziness that is Sabado Gigante. Image source: Sabdodo Gigante Facebook page.

It was recently announced that after 53 years on air, Sabado Gigante, the popular Spanish language variety show, will be no more. This made me a little sad. When my sisters and I were young, our Saturday nights were spent with my parents watching Sabado Gigante. It was a weekly ritual. I suspect it was one of the ways my parents got a taste of home from the otherwise all-English television programming in our house.

This ritual was accompanied with yummy snacks of course. Mainly always a shrimp cocktail (also known as Salvadoran ceviche), guacamole or sometimes just chips and salsa or with leftover chimol from that evening’s bbq.

When I heard Sabado Gigante was ending its run on air, I automatically thought back to that shrimp cocktail that I haven’t had or made in years (mainly because my husband has a shellfish allergy so I try not to bring any shellfish in the house). But this weekend, I made these shrimp cocktail tostadas and tuned in to Sabado Gigante for old time’s sake. It’s amazing how much our senses can bring back a flood of memories. Something as simple as the sounds of  Don Francisco’s (the host) unique voice or the taste of a simple snack brought my comforts of my childhood.

This cocktail is good on its own, with tortilla chips, or on tostadas as shown here.

Shrimp cocktail (Salvadoran ceviche) tostadas.

Shrimp cocktail (Salvadoran ceviche) tostadas.

Shrimp Cocktail Tostadas (ceviche de camaron)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 50-60 cook, peeled and deveined shrimp (the shrimp from a shrimp cocktail ring works just fine)
  • 2 ripe avocados, chopped
  • 1 medium sized tomato, diced
  • 1/3 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 TBSP ketchup
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • juice of 1/2 of a lime
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pepper to taste
  • chopped cilantro
  • salsa picante (hot sauce) of your choice (my sauce of choice is Cholula)
  • 6-8 Charra tostadas (in Winnipeg, these are available at Mercadito Latin, Marvin’s, El Izalco, and even Superstore).

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Chop shrimp pieces into halves
  2. In a bowl, combine shrimp, avocados and tomatoes.
  3. In a small separate bowl, combine ketchup and worcestershire sauce. Mix well.
  4. Pour ketchup mixture over shrimp mix.
  5. Add cumin, salt and pepper. Squeeze the lime juice over and mix.
  6. Add the red onion last so as not to overpower the other ingredients.
  7. Top with cilantro and salsa picanta of your choice.
  8. Spoon onto tostadas.

Enjoy with a little Sabado Gigante on the side!

Shrimp cocktail (otherwise known as ceviche) tostadas.

Shrimp cocktail (otherwise known as ceviche) tostadas.

