Coffee Paletas

paletas de cafe

Coffee paletas, a cool treat.

Paletas (popsicles) were a regular treat in my childhood days. Last summer I shared an easy recipe for Coconut-Mint Paletas and this year I’ve been playing around with some more recipes. My mom used to make all kinds of flavours; I remember watching her make them and feeling tormented while I waited for them to freeze. My FAVOURITE were her coffee paletas. Since I was a child and didn’t drink coffee they seemed like such a treat at the time. She made them sweet enough so that it was friendly on the kid palette.

I actually don’t have her recipe for this one so I created my own and I love how they turned out. As usual, I wanted to keep it simple so the best part is there are only two ingredients!

It’s been so hot these days, these have been serving a dual purpose — I’ve been snacking on them to keep cool and as an afternoon pick-me-up. I make them using leftover fair trade coffee from Ten Thousand Villages so not a drop goes to waste!

COFFEE PALETAS

Makes 5 – 100 ml popsicles

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups of cold coffee (from coffee brewed that day)
  • 1/3 cup of sweetened condensed milk

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Pour coffee into a glass bowl.
  2. Add condensed milk and stir until well blended.
  3. Pour into popsicle molds.
  4. Freeze until solid.

coffee paleta