Platanos Sancochado (boiled plantains)

platano sancochadoMy mother taught me not to waste food and watching fruits or veggies become go bad makes me cringe! I am always trying to find a way to use it all up. I recently found a good batch of plantains at the store (we don’t get the best quality plantains up here in Canada) so I snatched a bunch up and it resulted in a problem I’d never had before. I had too much and they were starting to get really ripe.

I was craving something warm and comforting so I made the easiest thing possible I could think of: platanos sancochado. Translation: boiled plantain. It is as easy as it sounds but not as boring as it sounds! I used my last two plantains and wish I’d had more. It hit the spot and makes a good breakfast or snack. Plantains are a good source of dietary fibre and a source of Vitamin A and Vitamin C.

I recommend a ripe plantain and you can use green ones too (they just take longer to cook) but since I used ones that were starting to over ripe and were very soft, they were even faster to cook.

Platanos Sancochado (boiled plantains)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 plantains
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon or cinnamon stick.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Peel plantains and cut each one into four chunks. Place in pot.
  2. Add water to cover plantains.
  3. Bring to a boil; then simmer.
  4. Stir and add cinnamon or cinnamon stick.
  5. Stir a few times until mushy, about five to 10 minutes.
  6. Serve hot.
platano sancochado

Enjoy while still hot!

